World Photo Day

World Photo Day is an international photography event on 19 August that celebrates the passion for photography.
In 2009, a 21 year old Canberra resident by the name of Korske Ara thought about starting a World Photo Day while sitting on his bed at home. Now, hundreds of thousands of people around the world celebrate photography every August.
Korske describes World Photo Day as “a global photography celebration that’s uniting local and global communities in a worldwide celebration of photography. We’re using technology to connect with ordinary people that love taking photos and we’re using those connections to promote a passion for photography that positively impacts our communities.”
“Photography is a powerful method of communication that we can use to uplift people and initiate change in our world. They say a picture is worth a thousand words and those words can be in any of the 6,500 languages on planet earth.”
Korske says “I built World Photo Day for community, and I want to develop it together with community. Building out the World Photo Day vision requires a whole community of young guns, and I’m working on building that community of passionate young people as you read this.”
According to Korske, World Photo Day now has an established community with 47,000 Facebook fans, 4,000 Instagram followers and 4,000 Twitter followers. It also has over 11,000 registered participants on its Website from 111 countries.
I am one of the members of the World Photo Day community. Why? Simply because I am passionate about photography – and have been since I was given my first camera on my 9th birthday. It is a lifelong passion that has given me so much. I have made so many great friends who share my passion. I have had the privilege of meeting a number of internationally famous photographers and getting to know them personally. I have had so many opportunities to share some of my zillions of images with other people, through competitions and exhibitions, through my blog and my various Websites and, of course, just personally with family members and close friends.
So, on 19 August 2016 I will be capturing some images with a view to sharing something with even more people.
Here are some images I captured just out of Canberra on 19 August 2013.
Sunlight and Rainmist
World Photo Day Horses
World Photo Day Rainbow
And here are a couple that I took at Lake Tabourie on the south coast on 19 August 2014.
Lake Tabourie Dune
Lake Tabourie Seascape
You can read more about World Photo Day at http://worldphotoday.com/
Standard

Leave a Reply

